top of page
  • marylalaleecreatio

The Scrunchie Key Fob

If you love key chains and scrunchies then this one is for you! I love making these more than actual scrunchies because sewing the elastic in is so much easier because you don't have to worry about hiding anything inside the scrunchie. The hardware does it for you!!


The materials:

1 3"x 22" fabric of your choice

1 1" elastic cut at 8 1/2"

1 Key Fob hardware of your choice and the pliers to secure it
















Step One: Fold your fabric right sides together lengthwise (hot dog style) and sew down the raw edges one quarter inch. Make sure you back tack at the beginning and end because after this step you are gonna turn that puppy right side out.















Step Two: Work the seam to where it is in the middle of one side of the scrunchie. This will cause it to be hidden when the band is worn. Iron to set it in place.




Step Three: Attach a safety pin at one end of the tube and slowly feed it down until the end without a safety pin is right next to the raw edge. Do not pull the safety pin all the way through to the other side. First we are gonna sew the opposite end to the raw edge using a 1/4" seam.




























Step Four: Now that one end of the scrunchie is secure you can pull the safety pin through the other end along with the elastic. Make sure the elastic doesn't twist. Once the elastic is lined up with the other raw edge remove the safety pin. Keep the elastic pinched with your fingers so it doesn't fall back through. Fold the scrunchie over and attach the two raw ends together. Make sure the seam is in the inside. Sew both raw edges together making sure to back stitch at each end.



Step Five: Trim any loose threads. I also found it helpful to clip the two corners of the raw edges so they didn't stick out after I put on the hardware. After Trimming attach the hardware to the raw edges. Using the pliers that came in my hardware kit I found it easier to hold on the the edge of the hardware and bracelet in one hand while quickly working the pliers and clamping with my dominant. This is probably the most tricky part. (At least for me). At one point I had to use a different pair of pliers to pry the hardware off



After that you are done! Some different options would be to superglue the hardware as well on one side before clamping. You can also experiment with different fabric and elastic length and sizes to achieve a variety of looks. These would make great gifts for birthdays or holidays. I am choosing to make a few to sell at my first craft fairs next month! Take a look at all these cute ones I made!




My three year old already claimed the tie dye one for herself.


Here is the link for where I got my hardware kit on Amazon:



https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08XZ121CJ?ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details&th=1



(I'm not currently set up to receive any financial gain for linking amazon items).



7,611 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page